You are currently viewing New York Giants | Big Blue View   
New York Giants | Big Blue View

New York Giants | Big Blue View   

  • Post author:
  • Post category:Sports

The National Football League (NFLNew )’s York Giants are an American football franchise that was established in 1925.

The squad originally hails from East Rutherford, New Jersey, where its home games are held at MetLife Stadium. Under a special arrangement, this stadium is shared with the New York Jets, another NFL team.

Four Super Bowl victories are among the eight national championships held by the Giants (1986, 1990, 2008 and 2011).

Founded in         1925
StadiumMetLife Stadium
Ability82,566 spectators
Owner         Steve Tisch
PresidentJohn Mara
TownEast Rutherford – New Jersey
ConferenceNational Football Conference (NFC)
Super Bowls XXI through XXV, XLII, and XLVI
NFL Champion 1927 – 1934 – 1938 – 1956


The club ranks third in the NFL for most championship championships won with 8.

Four NFL championships have been won by the Giants.

SeasonsCoachesplaceopponentsscoresSeason report
1927Earl Potteiger   11–1–1
1934Steve OwenNew York, NY    Chicago Bears30–138–5
1938Steve OwenNew York, NY    Green Bay Packers23–178–2–1
1956Jim Lee Howell        New York, NY    Chicago Bears47–78–3–1
Total NFL Title Won: 4 

four Super Bowls:

SeasonsCoachessuper-bowlplaceopponentsscoresSeason report
1986Bill ParcellsXXIPasadena, CADenver Broncos39–20        17–2
1990Bill ParcellsXXVTampa, FLBuffalo Bills20–19        16–3
2007Tom CoughlinXLIIGlendale, AZNew England Patriots        17–1414–6
2011Tom CoughlinXLVIIndianapolis, IN     New England Patriots21–17        13–7
  Total Super Bowls Won: 4 

Only four other teams—New England Patriots (6), Dallas (5), San Francisco (5), and Pittsburgh—have won more than four Super Bowls (6).

The squad, which is currently in first place in the standings and has participated in a record 19 National Finals, is an NFL franchise.

  • Green Bay Packers: 13 finals
  • Chicago Bears: 9 finals

The Giants also won:

  • 11 Conference titles:
  • 6 NFL East titles: 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963
SeasonsCoachesSeason report 
1956Jim Lee Howell8-3-1 
1958Jim Lee Howell9-3-0 
1959Jim Lee Howell10-2-0 
1961Allie Sherman10-3-1 
1962Allie Sherman12-2-0 
1963Allie Sherman11-3-0 
Total NFL Eastern Conference titles won: 6
  • 5 NFC titles: 1986, 1990, 2000, 2007, 2011 – (OT = overtime)
SeasonsCoachesplaceopponentsscoresSeason report
1986Bill Parcells        East Rutherford, NJ  Washington Redskins17–017–2
1990Bill Parcells        San Francisco, CA      San Francisco 49ers15–13        16–3
2000Jim Fassel        East Rutherford, NJMinnesota Vikings41–014–5
2007Tom Coughlin        Green Bay, WIGreen Bay Packers23–20 (OT) 14–6
2011Tom Coughlin        San Francisco, CASan Francisco 49ers20–17 (OT) 13–7
Total NFC Conference titles won: 5 

16 Division titles:

  • 8 NFL East titles: 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1944, 1946
  • 8 NFC East titles: 1986, 1989, 1990, 1997, 2000, 2005, 2008, 2011


The team was established in 1925, the same year that it and 4 other teams entered the NFL. The last of these five franchises to still be in operation is this one. In the Northeastern United States, it is also the franchise with the longest history.


The Giants have a very old history that begins in 1932 with the Redskins, a team called Washington Football Team since the 2020 season. There have been some extremely intense matchups between these two division rivals, despite the rivalry being less intense than with the Cowboys and Eagles. They encountered each other in the 1980s, among other things, during divisional championships and an NFC championship game in 1986. (a victory of the Giants 17 to 0 which led them to their first Super Bowl final). In Wellington Mara’s opinion, this team and this franchise have the longest-running and most intense rivalry. In his tribute, the Giants defeated their opponent 36-0 at home shortly after he announced his retirement in 2005. draws (1-1 in the round of 16). The Giants’ 103 wins over the Redskins is the most wins by a franchise over another franchise in NFL history.

Read More :